Store Bought Scent

May 23, 2008

cel·i·ba·cy: noun. 1: the state of not being married; 2 a: abstention from sexual intercourse b: abstention by vow from marriage

ab·sti·nence: noun. 1: voluntary forbearance especially from indulgence of an appetite or craving or from eating some foods; 2 a: habitual abstaining from intoxicating beverages b: abstention from sexual intercourse

After looking up the definition of these two terms (Merriam-Webster definitions), I have decided that I have taken a vow of celibacy. First, I’m not married, so that part makes sense. More importantly, this isn’t really a vow of “voluntary forbearance especially from indulgence of an appetite or craving.” I don’t crave sex. Having sex for fuck’s sake isn’t fun. It’s always because it’s expected or obligated. It shouldn’t be. Two people shouldn’t go on a first date with the expectation of at least second base. Not ok.

Don’t get me wrong though, I like it. I want it. I want it real bad. But I want to enjoy it. Once I can find someone to really enjoy it with, there won’t be a need for this vow. So wherever you are, make yourself present. Pronto.