Store Bought Scent

cel·i·ba·cy: noun. 1: the state of not being married; 2 a: abstention from sexual intercourse b: abstention by vow from marriage

ab·sti·nence: noun. 1: voluntary forbearance especially from indulgence of an appetite or craving or from eating some foods; 2 a: habitual abstaining from intoxicating beverages b: abstention from sexual intercourse

After looking up the definition of these two terms (Merriam-Webster definitions), I have decided that I have taken a vow of celibacy. First, I’m not married, so that part makes sense. More importantly, this isn’t really a vow of “voluntary forbearance especially from indulgence of an appetite or craving.” I don’t crave sex. Having sex for fuck’s sake isn’t fun. It’s always because it’s expected or obligated. It shouldn’t be. Two people shouldn’t go on a first date with the expectation of at least second base. Not ok.

Don’t get me wrong though, I like it. I want it. I want it real bad. But I want to enjoy it. Once I can find someone to really enjoy it with, there won’t be a need for this vow. So wherever you are, make yourself present. Pronto.

One Response to Store Bought Scent

  1. Jesse says:

    I agree, I think sex is handled too casually in our society. I’m all for freedom of expression (whether it be sexual or not) but I think way too many people have way too much sex with random people. Expectations in relationships are obnoxious and I make a point not to follow them, though that said, its often easier to do so when you’re male.

    As for the vow of celibacy, be glad you get to make that choice, ugly people don’t. Also those born without genitals; that’d be a bummer. On the plus side you could change your clothes anywhere and no one would be offended, that’d be sweet (it evens out).

Leave a Reply

