I’ll Smile And You’ll Wave

I’m surprised at how much shock there is over what the pope said about condoms. Really, people? Come on. He’s the fucking pope. Of course he’s not going to be an advocate of condoms. Though he did make an excellent point that I feel is a bit overlooked: “The Roman Catholic Church says marital fidelity and sexual abstinence are the best way to prevent the spread of HIV.” From my understanding and education, that statement is, in fact, true.

But yes, I know, that clearly isn’t the case, and it’s damn near impossible people will change. Condoms are good things. Free condoms are even better. But another quote that bothered me: “Rebecca Hodes, of the Treatment Action Campaign in South Africa said: ‘His opposition to condoms conveys that religious dogma is more important to him than the lives of Africans.” He’s the fucking pope, it’s kind of his job. What does he care about these people who “commit sin” unless they’re willing to repent? You know, it kind of reminds me of what’s going on in Gaza and how Hamas cares more about their ideals and demands than the lives of the civilians they should be defending.

But what do I know. I’m just a photo major.

Leave a Reply

