Bring The Funk On Home

Alright. So my Arab-American families project is pretty much falling through for this semester, which I’m really disappointed about. I was really excited about it, but at this point, I can’t possibly turn in a decent body of work since I haven’t taken any pictures.

So I’m going back to my original idea: gay bars. Specifically, the Cubby Hole (for now). It’s a group of people I’ve sort of gotten to know, and I think it’s worth taking a look at this bar through a photographic lens. Not only is the bar just fun to be in and to look at, but the people who run it don’t seem flamboyant like some might expect. Even the people who go there aren’t flaming. I just find it intriguing since my mom says she didn’t like gay bars. When she realized she was a lesbian and wanted to meet people, she felt like gay bars were the worst place because everyone just wants to hook up. But here, while people definitely want to hook up, there’s a sense of community. Not a solid, complete one, but it’s getting there.

Quite honestly, I’m not sure why I want to do it. I just don’t want to photograph old people like Joe suggested.

Leave a Reply

