Feelin’ hot (hot hot)

I started reading this article on Change.org, and their article regarding the Illinois Family Institute. Change.org was encouraging their readers to sign a petition, which was to stop the Crowne Plaza O’Hare from hosting the IFI’s conference. I told my mom about the article and petition, to which she replied “People are entitled to their opinions, and we shouldn’t prevent them from speaking their minds.” It struck me again that, even if I don’t agree with someone else’s opinions, and even if I think they’re totally absurd and go against human rights law, they’re still entitled to their opinions.

And that is what’s so incredible about the United States. No matter how angry some people make us, or how wrong they are, or how ignorant…they are allowed to express themselves and share their thoughts. They don’t have to worry about their lives or their safety or their jobs or their families for being who they are. We are allowed to disagree with each other, and more importantly, our leaders.

I know we don’t have the best human rights record, and we haven’t ratified any conventions either. But we have so many choices and options here. We can even leave if we don’t want to stay. I don’t know about you guys, but when I think about the choices we have, I get chills. Our country is pretty fucking cool.

Leave a Reply

