BSG Review: Fragged

Last summer my friends and I watched all of the Battlestar Galactica re-imagined series within a month. I was talking to a friend about it the other day: BSG took over our lives, it was all we talked about, it was what we lived for. And it ended so suddenly. It’s only 4 seasons, but we’d watch 3 or 4 episodes a night. So I’ve decided to re-watch the entire series, one episode a night.

A couple days ago I was feeling especially inspired, and I wrote down everything the episode made me feel, things I realized, and just my overall analysis of the show’s structure. I did the same thing last night, and I thought “Hmm. Maybe I should actually do something with these notes to make me feel productive.” So that’s what I’ll be doing. Taking my notes, and then posting them here. I’m starting with season 2, episode 3: “Fragged.”

**please note: none of it is edited, so pardon my language, grammar and spelling errors.

It’s like, oh shit. Tigh is so gay for Adama. And drunk. “Why aren’t you in the brig?” I totally forgot about Adama being shot, and how big of a fucking deal it was. Watching Tigh command is ridiculous. And the president is crazy and tripping balls on her drugs for her cancer. Baltar and Rosalyn are such crazy paralleled characters. They both have visions and other people think they’re insane. And Chief is a frakking cylon! Chief. Is a cylon. Kamala is a gateway drug. She’ll always be chasing the dragon. She’s tripping balls. And this question of democracy in this episode is awesome. Desperate times call for desperate measures. And Ellen is such a great foil to Saul. Does Ellen know at this point that she’s a cylon? OH MY GOD Baltar killed the LT. LT went crazy. Oh shit! That Adama hug will be amazing! I forgot how and why that hug is so epic. And Chief is so fucking human in this episode. Does the military represent reason. Rosalyn “humbly believes” she is fulfilling the role as a prophet. How can you believe something so humbly? Yo. Shit man. This shit gets real when Tigh declares martial law. He was so vulnerable and scared almost when he visits Adama, and then when he talks to the press, he fuckin’ lays down the law! Also, I want a martini. Or a bloody mary.
—–
So that’s that. And don’t get me wrong – I love Rosalyn in the end, but this part is just ridiculous.

One Response to BSG Review: Fragged

  1. Jesse Jack says:

    I remember the epic Adama and son hug, probably my favorite moment of the entire series.

Leave a Reply

